I {heart} Howl’s Moving Castle

Directed by Hayao Miyazaki, Howl’s Moving Castle is a must-watch Japanese animation. Loaded with a lot of meaning and a beautiful imagination, this 2004 film features Billy Crystal’s funny voice in one of the characters.

The script is so witty; I watched the movie several times now and each time I discover a new layer of meaning hidden within the film’s folds. Very clever, “deep,” and entertaining.


The soundtrack is sooo beautiful. Click below to watch the movie & to have a good listen of the wonderful music, but be careful it could play and replay in your head for a couple of days after you’ve watched the movie.

The movie basically says that if you have a you can surmount the worst spell/curse.

Watch the film here below:

About 50% Syrian

What is identity? I was raised Arab (of varying origins), with a Syrian mother, and Moroccan, Lebanese and Tunisian great grandfathers and grandmothers. I always felt 50% Syrian, and this percentage mattered to me more than anything else. Love of my life, my late Sufi grandmother, is Syrian... all her bedtime stories were about her life in Damascus. Damascus is where the heart dwells.
This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I {heart} Howl’s Moving Castle

  1. seleucid says:

    I’m so glad you’re a Miyazaki fan. That movie is magical beyond comprehension.

  2. 50% Syrian says:

    Amen to that. I’m still locked in that movie 🙂 Good to see you here seleucid

Leave a Reply

