Allaaaaaah!

Damascus fil Qalb, Syria & Sufism

It’s popular belief among Sufis that Damascus is the Spiritual Sufi capital of the world. Ibn Arabi is buried in Damascus along with a huge number of “Awliya,” whose knowledge, love and history are threads that weave into the fabric of Damascus. Those threads do not leave the fabric; eternally yours, Dimashq.

This city has so many secrets that are revealed to those who have white hearts; unattached to material life, clean from greed, ego and lust. This city is Love manifest. This city is mercy, kindness and generosity. No where else in the world has the Soul this place has, nor is there a place close to being as beautiful inside-out like Damascus. I am a traveler whose been to so many countries for music & media. The two most beautiful cities I’ve been to (not only visually, but also experientially) are Damascus and Istanbul. You can feel – with every cell in your body – how these two cities are cities of Light. You walk down the street and you feel happy; not the fleeting kind of happiness one feels eating chocolate, or receiving a love letter. It’s happiness that touches the very deep core of one’s heart, of one’s being.

Uttering God’s name “Allaaaaaaah” in Damascus is an experience on its own. Allah ya Damascus, Allaaah!

About 50% Syrian

What is identity? I was raised Arab (of varying origins), with a Syrian mother, and Moroccan, Lebanese and Tunisian great grandfathers and grandmothers. I always felt 50% Syrian, and this percentage mattered to me more than anything else. Love of my life, my late Sufi grandmother, is Syrian... all her bedtime stories were about her life in Damascus. Damascus is where the heart dwells.
This entry was posted in Sufism & Syria and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Allaaaaaah!

  1. Yaak says:

    Visiting the Tomb of Sheikh Muhyeddine is on the list of things I wish to do before I die. So close yet so far.

  2. 3abirsabeel says:

    Just thought to say how much I love your blog…every post is a gem and I find can be interpreted in many ways- as with the best of Sufi writers…I wish you would tell me of other Sufi bloggers though as I love the style so much but you are the first and it is primarily your love for Damascus which attracts me 🙂

    Keep up the good work

  3. 50% Syrian says:

    Yaak… bi izen Allah, one day you will.

    3abirsabeel… I love your blog! and many thanks for your comment… I’m not in communion with many Sufi bloggers, I am virtually friends with this great Sufi poet/blogger whose blog is called… Kneeling before the Rose… I tried to find the URL but… I’m not on my personal PC now 😛 God bless

Leave a Reply

